Remain

Dear reader,

I’m blogging along with the Five Minute Friday’s word prompts. We free write for 5-minutes on a single word prompt. This month we’re doing 31 prompts along with #Write31Days.

Today’s Prompt: Remain

Start – 5-minutes

I remain.

With clenched teeth

with a stubborn heart

with bitterness

with anger

with regret

but I still remain.

Motherhood.

Marriage.

Oh, these things they are the fire that refines this girl.

After getting married, I wanted to run within a month.

After giving birth, I wanted to run within a day.

After miscarriage (multiple) I wanted to escape, disappear.

It seems my whole life I’ve been running.

But, by the grace of a merciful God I remain.

Crying, depressed, ragged, poor, lonely, bitter, and YES, even happy, I remain.

I read a blog called Journey Mama and she described this well – Stay.

She enjoys traveling.

She is her most free most complete self out there, out experiencing new places, new people, BUT, she’s a mom, a wife, and a community leader.

Even though she wants with all her heart, soul, and body, to GO, she chooses to stay.

At first, there was probably an inner battle but NOW, she embraces staying.

Because sometimes, God calls us to STAY or REMAIN instead of GO.

As moms, as wives, as people who are needed by others sometimes it’s not about us and the deep pull of our hearts.

Sometimes…

The better thing is to leave yourself in a holding (God’s arms) and embrace your position, your necessity in other’s lives, and Remain.

Stop = 206

From Journey Mama

Stay. Is there a way to find yourself in a deeper way while staying still than while escaping?

There are so many books and writings on people finding themselves while traveling, leaving everything, shucking off the old, being on the road. I deeply, deeply resonate with journeying. Sometimes I think my eyes are only properly open when tracks are clicking beneath me. But can I find myself when my feet are in the kitchen?

Leave a Reply

