Try

Dear reader,

I’m blogging along with the Five Minute Friday’s word prompts. We free write for 5-minutes on a single word prompt. This month we’re doing 31 prompts along with #Write31Days.

Today’s Prompt: Try

Start – 5 minutes

Try.

Try.

Try.

Sometimes it’s all I can do to try to live this life.

Other times, I’m filled with so much joy I can seem to live enough.

The thing I like most about my faith is that God forgives and is merciful.

This means that no matter how many times I mess up if I humble myself, repent and turn back toward him with a willing heart, a pliable heart, a heart surrendered toward him and open to hearing the gentle breeze of the Holy Spirit, he makes a way for my return like the ever-popular story of the prodigal son.

Yoda says, “Do. Or do not. There is no Try.”

God says, Do, but when we try and fall flat on our faces or our bums, he with a willing hand stretched out offers us assistance, to get up, to correct our misstep and to continue on with the journey of trying.

I try. I try. I try, to be a good person, a good mom, a good wife, a good… but ultimately it is nothing without the source of good – God.

Stop = 184 words

See Joel 2:12 – 13

“Yet even now,” declares the LORD, “Return to Me with all your heart, And with fasting, weeping and mourning; 13And rend your heart and not your garments.” Now return to the LORD your God, For He is gracious and compassionate, Slow to anger, abounding in lovingkindness And relenting of evil.

 

Leave a Reply

