Listen

Dear reader,

I’m blogging along with the Five Minute Friday’s word prompts. We free write for 5-minutes on a single word prompt. This month we’re doing 31 prompts along with #Write31Days.

Today’s Prompt: Listen

listen

Start: 5-minutes

You know, I have the hardest time Listening.

When my sons were little I’d hold their face gently in my hands and say look me in the eyes when we’re talking.

I learned this technique (holding their attention) from another Mom.

But now…

my youngest son holds my face, in his hands, and says “Listen” with your eyes.

This old mom has a hard time listening.

She forms thoughts and prepares her “next” thing while half listening.

My son is on the autism spectrum which is a bit challenging at times.

But, it’s things like really listening, focusing, on what he’s saying that is important to him.

When he feels your attention is not fully on him and his words he refuses to talk to you.

It hurts.

Me.

He simply walks away and doesn’t give me another chance to listen.

I often wonder if I would even be this aware of my listening habits if it weren’t for his autism?

Stop.

181 Words.

Leave a Reply

