Hold

Dear reader,

I’m blogging along with the Five Minute Friday’s word prompts. We free write for 5-minutes on a single word prompt. This month we’re doing 31 prompts along with #Write31Days.

Today’s Prompt: Hold

hold

Start – 5-minutes.

Hold me, Jesus.

Back when I was twenty-something, I drove across country and started a life on my own.

I was 19 years old.

Lived in a small rural town.

Was just starting to fall in love (with the man who I married).

And, a baby Christian.

I was alone.

I did have my grandmother and other relatives but I didn’t grow up knowing them.

It was a great time, I think because it was a time of stretching.

I remember one night a song on the radio.

Rich Mullins.

Hold me, Jesus.

“Hold, me Jesus. I’m shaking like a leaf. You have been King of my glory, Won’t you be my Prince of Peace.”

Tears filled my eyes.

My heart longed to be held.

The loneliness I felt, in the quiet of the night, far from the busyness I filled my life with, the Holy Spirit spoke to my heart.

I think it was the first time since becoming an awakened Christian (I accepted Jesus in 2nd grade but ACCEPTED Jesus in August ’93) that I felt the Holy Spirit envelop me in a love so strong it tore all the walls I built around myself.

No, Sara. You’re not tough.

No, Sara, you DO care.

No, Sara, you’re not okay with being alone.

Sara, I love you and I want to you REST right here in my arms.

End.

Read the full lyrics of Hold Me Jesus by Rich Mullins

Words that reach your deepest parts. The highlighted part rings true for me today.

I fight for something I don’t really want rather than take what God gives freely (that I need).

https://play.google.com/music/preview/Tjn5q7fenahdeu5tvxmppoexs5y?lyrics=1&utm_source=google&utm_medium=search&utm_campaign=lyrics&pcampaignid=kp-songlyrics&u=0#https://play.google.com/music/preview/Tjn5q7fenahdeu5tvxmppoexs5y?lyrics=1&utm_source=google&utm_medium=search&utm_campaign=lyrics&pcampaignid=kp-songlyrics&u=0#https://play.google.com/music/preview/Tjn5q7fenahdeu5tvxmppoexs5y?lyrics=1&utm_source=google&utm_medium=search&utm_campaign=lyrics&pcampaignid=kp-songlyrics&u=0#

Written by Richard Mullins • Copyright © Universal Music Publishing Group, Capitol Christian Music Group

 

Leave a Reply

