Create

Dear reader,

I’m blogging along with the Five Minute Friday’s word prompts. We free write for 5-minutes on a single word prompt. This month we’re doing 31 prompts along with #Write31Days.

Today’s Prompt: Create

create

Start 5-minutes.

Creating with words is easy for me.

Oh, I’m not eloquent like others.

I make grammar mistakes. My thoughts are flighty and often incomprehensible.

I can’t get what’s in my heart into these clumsy fingertips.

But, I still create with words.

From the time I was a very young girl, stories lived inside.

Great places, exciting people, and magic. Always magic.

Imagination.

Creating an alternative world than the one I grew up in.

Rewriting the painful moments into new and hopeful ones.

I’m blessed with an active imagination which helps me create worlds free from pain.

But, early this year, God asked me to let it go.

To be more present.

To no longer hide within the creative worlds and realities, I made for myself.

To face what IS.

Kicking and screaming yet still submitting to his perfect will, I stop.

No, not all together. I’m not perfect. I have a very long way to go.

And no God is not a prude. He knows ME.

He knows why I live more in my creative imagination than in my reality.

He’s patient with me.

Stop.

I’m reminded of 2 Corinthians 10:5 KJV:

Casting down imaginations, and every high thing that exalteth itself against the knowledge of God, and bringing into captivity every thought to the obedience of Christ;

It strikes me, that not until last month did the full depth of this verse come to my consciousness.

You see, I always thought God didn’t want us to use our imaginations and being the stubborn girl I am, I held onto the only “sanity” I had – life within my imagination.

My imagination has saved me although probably the truth is God saved me by means of my imagination.

BUT, you see, it is imaginations and EVERY HIGH THING that exalts itself AGAINST THE KNOWLEDGE OF GOD.

That part bopped me over the head as I read it last month.

How many things do I allow to usurp God’s place in my mind, my life?

The second part of that verse is what God is working on with me lately.

“bringing into captivity EVERY THOUGHT to the obedience of Christ”

I’m 45 years old. I’ve lived practically 43 of those years in my imagination especially when reality was not what I wanted it to be.

It’s a painful truth, but God knew I was strong enough now to face it. It saddens me all the REAL life I missed but you know, GOD, he is in the business of renewal. He raised his son JESUS from dead after all.

Magic. No, not magic, that’s for the imagination.

Magnificant Power! Yes, exactly.

Leave a Reply

